About Us


Disability Advocacy Service Inc. (DAS) is a key provider of community-based advocacy services within the municipalities of Alice Springs, Amoonguna and Tennant Creek, Northern Territory.

As a not-for-profit incorporated community organisation, Disability Advocacy Service offers a free, confidential advocacy service to persons and families with a disability, supporting and empowering clients to exercise their own rights in accordance with the NT Disability Advocacy Standards.

Vision: An inclusive community that recognizes, respects, and provides equitable access for persons with a disability.
Mission: Disability Advocacy Service is a community based advocacy service that upholds and protects the rights of people with a disability and their support networks.

DAS Strategic Plan (PDF): Strategic Plan 2016-2019 – PDF
DAS Strategic Plan (Plain Text Word Document): Strategic Plan 2016-2019 – Word

Disability Advocacy Service is governed by a Board of Directors. The Members of the DAS Board are as follows:

Chairperson: Dr John Gilroy, Ba: Hons PhD – Adjunct, Flinders’ University
Dr Gilroy is a Koori man from the Yuin nation and an indigenous health sociologist specialising in disability and community care research.

Vice Chairperson & Nominated Public Officer: Heather Jensen
Heather Jensen is an Occupational Therapist with extensive experience in Central Australia. She currently works part-time in Centre for Remote Health and private practice.

Treasurer: Janet Wright
Janet Wright is the CEO of Alice Springs Youth and Accommodation Service (ASYASS) .

Board Members:

Susan Burns – Susan Burns currently works for NDS (National Disability Services) in Industry Development.

Penelope Curtis 

Joel Walker



Copyright © 2016 DISABILITY ADVOCACY SERVICE INC. All rights reserved.